Principal Investigator

theodore_website Dr. Rachel M. Theodore joined the UConn community in the Fall of 2011.  She is director of the UConn SLaP Lab located in the D.C. Phillips Communication Sciences Building.  She is also Research Affiliate at Haskins Laboratories.  She received her Ph.D. in Psychology from Northeastern University and completed post-doctoral training in Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences at Brown University.  Both her B.S. and M.A. are in the field of Speech and Hearing Sciences.

Ph.D. Students

drouin_website Julia Drouin is a sixth-year dual Au.D./Ph.D student and NSF IGERT Fellow.  She received her B.A. in Psychology and SLHS from UConn in 2014.  Her research examines functional plasticity of speech sound representation with the goal of identifying ways to optimize rehabilitation outcomes in cochlear implant users. Ms. Drouin is a recipient of the Ph.D. Fellowship from the Council of Academic Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders.
monto_website Nicholas Monto is a sixth-year doctoral student and NSF IGERT Associate.  He received his B.S. in Psychology and Neuroscience from the University of Connecticut in 2014.  His research examines the neural basis of reading ability and its relationship to speech sound representation, and computational accounts of talker-specificty in spoken language processing. Mr. Monto is also a Student Ambassador to Intel, Inc. He is a recipient of the Acoustical Society of America Stetson Scholar award.
Nikole Giovannone is a second-year doctoral student, a Jorgensen Fellow, and NSF NRT Fellow.  She received her B.A. in Psycholinguistics from Mount Holyoke College. Her current research examines individual differences in speech perception across language ability using both behavioral and EEG methodology.
Lee Drown is a first-year doctoral student and NIH/NIDCD T32 Predoctoral Fellow.  She received her B.S. in Speech-Language Pathology from Ithaca College as an Honors scholar and her M.A. in Speech-Language Pathology at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Her current research examines speech perception and its relationship to auditory processing of speech sounds in individuals with reading disorders.

Undergraduate Students

Andrew Pine
Class of ’20
Lab Manager
Victoria Zysk
Class of ’20
Jayanne Perkins
Class of ’21
Isabel Frentress
Class of ’21
Betsy Philip
Class of ’21
Kaitlyn McNichols
Class of ’21
Rachael Tong
Class of ’21
Olivia Filanowski
Class of ’21
Samantha Beacham
Class of ’21
Jessica Berry
Class of ’22

 Lab Alumni

Graduate students Elizabeth O’Brien, M.A., (2019)
Stephen Graham, M.A. (2017)
Alexandra Bohner, M.A. (2015)
Kelly Casey, M.A. (2015)
Minal Kadam, M.A. (2015)
Shayna Marmon, M.A. (2015)
Joslynn Noyes, M.A. (2014)
Jean Campbell, M.A. (2013)
Janice Lomibao, M.A. (2013)
Undergraduate students Emma Hungaski, B.A., Honors (2019)
Divya Ganugapati, B.S., (2019)
Narineh Torosyan, B.A., (2019)
Danielle Elson, B.A., (2019)
Amanda Salemi, B.A., (2019)
Kayley Farrell, B.A., (2019)
Claire Hirsch, B.A., (2018)
Rylie Forte, B.A., (2018)
Emily Opramolla, B.A., Honors (2018)
Luz Antunez, B.A., (2018)
Ann Priolo, B.A., (2018)
Billi Aspinwall, B.A., (2018)
Erin Flanagan, B.A., Honors (2017)
Taylor Laubenstein, B.A., (2017)
Kayla Marcinczyk, B.A. (2017)
Anna Thomas, B.A., (2017)
Olivia Stickles, B.A., (2017)
Millie Quevedo, B.A., (2017)
Myles Mocarski, B.A., (2017)
Alex Liner, B.A., (2017)
Khloe Gu, B.S., (2017)
Samay Patel, RISE (2017)
Moira Lewerk, RISE (2016)
Peter Tiley, RISE (2016)
Jacqueline Ose, SHARE (2016)
Maria Marotti, B.A., (2016)
Ashley Bean, B.A. (2016)
Malia Pratt, B.A. (2016)
Alice Hughes, B.A., (2016)
Lisa Brody, B.A., Honors (2015)
Katlyn Salvador, B.A., Honors (2015)
Emily Thompson, B.A., Honors (2015)
William Baron, B.A. (2015)
Alexandra Gagas, B.A. (2015)
Jenean Jourdan, B.A. (2015)
Carol Baingana, B.A. (2015)
Sarahann Cooper, B.A. (2015)
Stephen Graham, B.A. (2015)
John Gerrity, Jr., B.A. (2015)
Taylor Leach, B.A. (2015)
Shannon Hughes, B.A. (2015)
Kylie Hill, B.A. (2015)
Madeline Moulton, B.A. (2015)
Kayla Bleau, B.A. (2015)
Heather McSherry, B.A., Honors (2014)
Rebecca Sylvia, B.A., Honors (2014)
Sarah Montanaro, B.A. (2014)
Devin Roscillo, B.A. (2014)
MaryKate Bisaillon, B.A. (2014)
Emily Butterworth, B.A. (2014)
Elana Katz, B.A. (2014)
Megan Laskey, B.A. (2013)
Alexis Giroux, B.A. (2013)
Alexandra Bohner, B. A. (2013)
Vanessa Springer, B.A. (2013)